PDA

View Full Version : From MN questionable diagnosis!

gone-sedona
10-15-2011, 10:45 PM
Hi folks, I am just doing my first post on this site. I am on another site every day but came here because my Immunologist told me that "You remind me of a lupus patient, but your DNA is negative". I am in my 60's and had to retired d/t my health. I was a registered nurse and had been having health problems since I was about 20 years old.

Treated like a hypochondriac all my life and felt so sick so much of the time. Managed to finish nurses training, marry and raise 3 kids, work part time, garden, remodel houses, etc. Thought I would die some days but I never did. Diagnosed (finally) in 2003 with sjogrens because of a positive lip biopsy. Really shocked a whole bunch of doctors who had no clue I was that sick even though I kept telling them so.

I have had histoplasmosis(1981) and Mycobacterium kansasii in 2005 and treated with 1 year of 3 different antibiotics daily total of 7-8 antibiotics. Had all my teeth pulled in "spurts" due to so many abscesses. My teeth felt sick and they were. Many infections over the years since around early 1970's and finally was sent to immunologist in 2006. This doc totally changed my life. I was diagnosed with myasthenia gravis, hashimotos and severely low t-cells. My t-cell count was 320 at its lowest.

I receive Privigen 80 grams IV every month for my myasthenia and it does help with my infections some. Started this in 2006 and this next month will be the beginning of my 6th year. I just started plaquenil 3 weeks ago because my sed rate is going up. It has always run between 1-4 and is now up to 18 and I have had a rough summer. My health status had been going down the past year. I have to admit that I feel better since the weather cooled off. The hot weather just tears me up with my whole system.