PDA

View Full Version : lupus giving me problems at work

Morpheus
04-03-2006, 02:02 AM
Hi everyone, glad everyone's back together :D :D :D

As of this year lupus has increasingly been giving me problems.
I'm a part-time baker and full time student. However, in the past i was always able to do my job no problem,inspite that it could be rather strenuous work at times.

Now these days it seems that through half of my shift( i usually work late shift till about 11 pm) My joints would start aching and fatigue would start setting in.

It is really frustrating as my job depends on me having to be active all the time.

Is there any advice from anyone.

Saysusie
04-04-2006, 08:06 AM
Hi Again Morpheus Very Happy
Believe it or not, the thing that I have found that helps me to manage my fatigue the most is regualr exercise!! When I exercise daily, I fing that I have more stamina and less debilitating fatigue. I engage in activities that strengthen my stamina but don't cause stress to my joints and muscles. During nice weather, I swim laps for all-over fitness. I also walk (not jog or run) and ride my bike.
With reference to working, the most important thing is to listen to your own body; it will let you know when you need to take a rest. There is no doubt that you will have to make some adjustment to your lifestyle and to how you manage your active and rest periods at work. But, you WILL need to give yourself some recuperative rest periods at work. Trying to do this while still maintaining the required expectations will more than likely be a challenge. However, you could talk to your employer and discuss some sort of job accommodations. Changes may be necessary, but that does not necessarily mean that they will be negative. It may be that you cannot manage to work the hours you used to work. If this is not possible, maybe you might be able to spread the hours you work over more days or be able to take a longer break in the day.