PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - diagnosed Friday

CrazyinAlabama
03-29-2006, 09:35 PM
Hello everyone,

I am new to this site and to Lupus. It has been a long hard road getting to a diagnosis, but Friday I was told by a rheumatologist that I had Systemic Lupus. I read some of the previous posts about being hard to find a good doctor. My primary doctor is actually a nurse practioner and I am very pleased with her care. She is the one who found my elevated blood levels and thought I had lupus or RA. I chose the closest city and unfortunately the doctor was not very pleasant or helpful. I have been battling fibromyalgia for over ten years and have hepatis C antibodies. The rheumatologist said, "How did you get Hepatitis?" I tried to explain that is was antibodies, but everytime I would say anything, it would be dismissed. He seemed relieved when the tests came back negative for Hepatitis. I only went back to find out the results of my tests, since the first visit was almost $400.