PDA

View Full Version : Coldness

GeoKasher
07-15-2011, 07:53 AM
I'm just learning about Lupus and still tying my myriad of symptoms to it. Is it common for Lupus patients to always be cold? I am always MUCH colder than anyone else. I am not comfortable until it reaches the 90s. If there's even the slightest breeze, no matter how warm it is, I'm shivering. I hate the winter months because I just can not get warm. I wear lots of layers but still feel frozen right to the core. Usually all that helps is a warm bath, but I can't be doing that every half hour!

Like today, it is over 70 and I am absolutely freezing. I have a long sleeved t-shirt on and a sweater over the top of that and I'm still cold. I've been this way for years...

steve.b
07-15-2011, 08:08 AM
lupus effects everyone differently.

for me,
lupus effects my blood,
it causes havoc with my circulation, so i do not thermo regulate properly.
both extremes of weather are difficult for me.

my problem is increased with my fibromyalgia.

i go stone cold in low temperatures.
stone cold.

ritzbit
07-15-2011, 08:46 AM
I was the weird kid walking around with jeans and a jacket down in Florida on familey vacations when I was little. And now I have Raynauds which is worsened by the cold, and Im always cold. However, like steve I dont really regulate temp well. My rheumy told me my "internal thermostat" doesnt work right. Im never really comfortable but I've learned to live with it. Im either extremely hot or cold. Like right now from the knees down Im freezing and my mid section is really hot.

giggle
07-15-2011, 05:14 PM
I am always cold also. If I go from warm/hot temperature into cold airconditioning, I get SICK. I start shivering like I have fever, I get stomach cramps which in minutes turn to an upset stomach and me running for the bathroom. I hate air conditioning.
My feet are purple right now, but because they go numb I typically do nothing about it.

Bonita
07-15-2011, 05:44 PM