PDA

View Full Version : Mental illness & Lupus

lovedbyHim
06-07-2011, 02:55 AM
I would really like to know if any of you experience, during a flair, mental confusion, anxity, depression, and even mild paranoia. Last Winter I had a bad flair and had these symptoms but was on a lot of lyrica at the time, so it was hard to tell if it was the meds or the lupus. It scared the crap out of me. What is even harder is that all day long I work in the mental health field and must be very alert and clear headed. I hope I never go through that again. I know this is a touchy subject. But it happened to me. If you are too uncomfortable expressing this openly, please will you send me a personal note? Also, what did you do to manage the symptoms? Thanks gang.

tgal
06-07-2011, 03:06 AM
Hi Loved,

This is a wonderful topic and the answer is yes, most of us do to some extent or another. On the lower end we have "brain fog" where many of us just get confused and our memory is bad. On the other end of that are ones of us that have CNS involvement (Central Nervous System). CNS involvement can cause paranoia, seizures and a host of other issues. So the answer to your question is yes, and it can range from very slight to severe.

There is a thread that was started and that we use for a chuckle and it is examples of all of things we do because of our fog. It can be found here (http://forum.wehavelupus.com/showthread.php?7214-You-Know-You-Have-Brain-Fog-When...&highlight=brainfog)