PDA

View Full Version : Don't let autoimmune disorders stop you...

rob
06-03-2011, 07:44 AM
Hi Everyone,

My neuro has taken a wait and see approach with my Trigeminal Neuralgia. He started me back on meds for it, and it's been over a month since my last T.N. flare. It's been a while since I've had any serious SLE or MS flare activity as well. As a result, my neuro has now given me the OK to go racing!

So, I will be driving a dragster capable of well over 200mph for the very first time tomorrow. Of course, since I'm a newbie, still learning, and yet to earn my license, I won't being going anywhere near that sort of speed at first. I have a great veteran driver-instructor who's taken me under his wing, and we'll be taking this new adventure slowly, and one careful step at a time. Hopefully I'll have my license by the end of the summer, and then I'll be ready to actually compete at the beginning of next year's racing season.

I will be fulfilling a lifelong dream tomorrow, despite the fact that I have three of the worst autoimmune disorders out there. Don't let Lupus, or whatever combination of A.I. stuff you are dealing with stop you from pursuing your dreams. Just tell SLE to go to hell, and go do what you want to do. If some dreams are no longer possible for whatever practical reason, forget them, find yourself some new ones, and just dive into them. If one path through life is no longer possible, there's always other paths, and sometimes, the new ones we are forced to take can be even better than the original.

I'll be at the track all day tomorrow. I'll let you guys know how it went when I get back tomorrow night!

Rob

ETA: Here's my ride
Click Image For Full Size-

Here's what the cockpit looks like, it's a tight fit!

Gizmo
06-03-2011, 07:58 AM